Board MeetingThe Daniel Boone Regional Library is governed by the DBRL Board of Trustees, which is made up of 19 volunteers. As authorized by state statute, the Columbia Library Districthas nine members appointed by the mayor, and these trustees can serve up to three, three-year terms. The Boone and Callaway County Library District Boards have five members each, appointed by their respective commissioners, and these trustees serve four-year terms with no limit. Each trustee serves on his/her own district board as well as the DBRL Board. A contract binds our three member library districts into a regional library system under the authority of Revised Statutes of Missouri (RSMo) 70.210.

The DBRL Board makes all library policy and budget decisions. DBRL’s fiscal year runs January-December. We are funded primarily through property tax income. State aid, interest income, grants, bequests and donations, and copier/printer income make up the rest of the system’s income. Melissa Carr has worked for DBRL for 40 years and has served as the regional director since 1996. The director oversees the day-to-day library operations and the staff.

Copyright © 2016 Daniel Boone Regional Library | (573) 443-3161 |